Home > PWM Edition >

Impromptus Op. 29, 36, 51 : Chopin National Edition : (ed. Jan Ekier) : # 51600009
Impromptus Op. 29, 36, 51 : Chopin National Edition : (ed. Jan Ekier) : # 51600009

Impromptus Op. 29, 36, 51 : Chopin National Edition : (ed. Jan Ekier) : # 51600009

In Stock - Usually ships in 1-3 (M-F) days - Guaranteed Same Day Shipping for Orders with UPS 1, 2 or 3-days shipping method selected (not USPS)

Retail Price: $14.95
Sales Price: $10.42

Availability: In Stock
Product Code: ZHL132272

Product Description

Impromptus Op. 29; 36; 51 : Chopin National Edition : (ed. Jan Ekier), : Frederic Chopin : Jan Ekier : PWM Series : Softcover : Published by PWM Edition : # 51600009
Impromptus Op. 29; 36; 51 by : Frederic Chopin : Jan Ekier

Includes Impromptu in A-flat Major; Op. 29; Impromptu in F-sharp Major; Op. 36; and Impromptu in G-flat Major; Op. 51. The central section of each is characterized by the cessation of movement and effusive lyricism. The opening and closing sections; though full of movement; weave long-breathed arabesques with tranquility. The sound world of the impromptus sound is “bright”; subject to euphony and beautiful rhythm.

The National Edition of the Works of Fryderyk Chopin

Published by PWM

Exclusively Distributed by Hal Leonard Corporation


Jan Ekier and Pawel Kaminski

The objective of the National Edition is to present Chopin's complete output in its authentic form; based on the entire body of available sources. Sources were analyzed with up-to-date scientific and musicological methodology.

The National Edition was based on sources originated from the composer; mainly autographs; copies of autographs and first editions with the composer's corrections; and pupils' copies with Chopin's annotations. In cases when original sources were lacking; the closest possible materials were used. Collecting the source materials was a laborious task which took years of effort.

The characteristics of sources; the links and discrepancies between them as well as the reasons for particular editorial decisions are discussed in the Source Commentary in each volume.

The Performance Commentary appended to each volume includes: the realization of ornaments; comments on pedal markings (the original markings sometimes are inadequate; due to the difference in sound between pianos used in Chopin`s times and modern pianos); suggestions as to the “harmonic legato” (a performance technique often used by Chopin and now forgotten).

About the National Edition

Full Introduction to the Polish National Edition of the Works of Fryderyk Chopin

. . . . Sample Audio & etc. . . .

Source Commentary (excerpt) Performance Commentary (excerpt) Music Sample About the Music Contents


PublisherPWM Edition
Media Softcover
Length x Width x Height12 x 9.25 x 0.15   inches
Shipping Weight0.41 pounds
East Coast Music Product Code ZHL132272
UPC Code884088971069
ISBN 8392036506
EAN 9788392036500
1st Publication Date01/2013

Below are Related Products that you may be interested in.

Impromptus Op. 29; 36; 51 : for Piano Study Score (Study Score) : Study Score : # 12152020

Impromptus : Chopin Complete Works Vol. IV : (ed. Ignacy Jan Paderewski) : # PWM233