Home > PWM Edition >

Mazurkas : Chopin National Edition 4A, Vol. IV : (ed. Jan Ekier) : # 9750030
Mazurkas : Chopin National Edition 4A, Vol. IV : (ed. Jan Ekier) : # 9750030

Mazurkas : Chopin National Edition 4A, Vol. IV : (ed. Jan Ekier) : # 9750030

In Stock - Usually ships in 1-3 (M-F) days - Guaranteed Same Day Shipping for Orders with UPS 1, 2 or 3-days shipping method selected (not USPS)

Retail Price: $33.95
Sales Price: $23.02

Availability: In Stock
Product Code: ZHL132281

Product Description

Mazurkas : Chopin National Edition 4A; Vol. IV : (ed. Jan Ekier), : Frederic Chopin : Jan Ekier : PWM Series : Softcover : Published by PWM Edition : # 9750030
Mazurkas by : Frederic Chopin : Jan Ekier

Includes Mazurkas Op. 6-41; Op. 42A and 42B;

Chopin composed his “Mazurkas” continuously from 1825 to 1849. Inspired by Polish folk dance; Chopin's mazurkas gradually became compositions of meditative lyricism; and the most personal statement of expression. Of the variants in musical notation; those designated ossia were marked in this way by Chopin himself or inscribed in his hand in pupils' copies. See also 00132282 for the Mazurkas published posthumously.arked in this way by Chopin himself or inscribed in his hand in pupils' copies; while those without this indication result from textual divergences in authentic copies or from difficulties in reading the text in an unambiguous way.

The National Edition of the Works of Fryderyk Chopin

Published by PWM

Exclusively Distributed by Hal Leonard Corporation


Jan Ekier and Pawel Kaminski

The objective of the National Edition is to present Chopin's complete output in its authentic form; based on the entire body of available sources. Sources were analyzed with up-to-date scientific and musicological methodology.

The National Edition was based on sources originated from the composer; mainly autographs; copies of autographs and first editions with the composer's corrections; and pupils' copies with Chopin's annotations. In cases when original sources were lacking; the closest possible materials were used. Collecting the source materials was a laborious task which took years of effort.

The characteristics of sources; the links and discrepancies between them as well as the reasons for particular editorial decisions are discussed in the Source Commentary in each volume.

The Performance Commentary appended to each volume includes: the realization of ornaments; comments on pedal markings (the original markings sometimes are inadequate; due to the difference in sound between pianos used in Chopin`s times and modern pianos); suggestions as to the “harmonic legato” (a performance technique often used by Chopin and now forgotten).

. . . . Sample Audio & etc. . . .

Source Commentary (excerpt) Performance Commentary (excerpt) Music Sample About the Music (excerpt) Contents (continued) Contents


PublisherPWM Edition
Media Softcover
Length x Width x Height12 x 9.25 x 0.43   inches
Shipping Weight1.52 pounds
East Coast Music Product Code ZHL132281
UPC Code884088971151
ISBN 1480390798
EAN 9781480390799
1st Publication Date01/2013

Below are Related Products that you may be interested in.

Mazurkas for Piano; Series B; Published Posthumously : Chopin National Edition 25B; Vol. 1 : (ed. Jan Ekier) : # 51600017

Mazurkas (1 21 Bis) For Piano; B.1 (Piano) : # 10890020

Mazurkas (22 39) For Piano; B.2 (Piano) : # 10891020

Mazurkas Op. 6-41; 50-63 : for Piano Miniature Edition (Study Score) : Study Score : # 12177020

Mazurkas Nos. 1 and 2; Op. 50 : Cello and Piano (Score and Solo Part) : (ed. Jerzy Bauer) : # 12323010

Mazurkas : Chopin Complete Works Vol. X : (ed. Ignacy Jan Paderewski) : # PWM240