Home > Music Sales America >

Poul Ruders: Corpus Cum Figuris (Score) (Score) : # WH29856
Poul Ruders: Corpus Cum Figuris (Score) (Score) : # WH29856

Poul Ruders: Corpus Cum Figuris (Score) (Score) : # WH29856

In Stock - Usually ships in 1-3 (M-F) days - Guaranteed Same Day Shipping for Orders with UPS 1, 2 or 3-days shipping method selected (not USPS)

Retail Price: $125.00
Sales Price: $90.91

Availability: In Stock
Product Code: ZHL14027980

Product Description

Poul Ruders: Corpus Cum Figuris (Score) (Score) By : Poul Ruders : Music Sales America Series : Published by Music Sales America : # WH29856
Poul Ruders: Corpus Cum Figuris (Score) by : Poul Ruders

Corpus Cum Figuris is a uniform composition in three major parts. The first part is a slow marche funébre; a kind of prologue with dark and sombre sounds and a massive wall of chords which leads us to the other part of the works where the static and solemn atmosphere is suddenly stopped and replaced by a rhythmic/melodic ritual which accelerates the music. In the third part the block structure is softened gradually; different figurations and stylistic elements arise to live their own lives: distant waltzes and pictures from the Middle Ages appear in this gigantic sonorous body. After a wild percussion orgy a short flash-back and a scream from the edge end Corpus cum Figuris. The piece has no literal content at all; even though the title leads the thought to Adrian Leverkühn's Apocalipsis cum Figuris from Thomas Mann's Doctor Faustus. More likely; my piece will arouse associations as with all my music. It has to be heard in it's own conditions; in this case as a big body of music or perhaps as a great screen where the details; of course; are part of the whole body but at the same time are foreign and odd. It is as if one climbs a mountain and from the top of that mountain discovers a world which is completely different from expected. Corpus cum Figuris for 20 musicians was composed in 1984; commissioned by Ensemble InterContemporain and the Danish Radio. Ensemble InterContemporain world premiered the work in April 1985 conducted by Peter Eötvös. The piece was also played at the ISCM-festival in Amsterdam by Netherland Radio Chamber Orchestra conducted by Ernest Bour.


PublisherMusic Sales America
Length x Width x Height16.5 x 12 x 0.5   inches
Shipping Weight1.13 pounds
East Coast Music Product Code ZHL14027980
ISBN 8759856815
EAN 9788759856819
Voicing DescriptionScore
1st Publication Date10/1992


Below are Related Products that you may be interested in.

Poul Rovsing Olsen: Without A Title Op.72 : # WH29197

Poul Ruders: Alarm (Percussion Parts) : # KP00033