Home > Sikorski >

Quasi Hoquetus : for Viola, Cello and Piano (Score & Parts) : # SIK8678
Quasi Hoquetus : for Viola, Cello and Piano (Score & Parts) : # SIK8678

Quasi Hoquetus : for Viola, Cello and Piano (Score & Parts) : # SIK8678

In Stock - Usually ships in 1-3 (M-F) days - Guaranteed Same Day Shipping for Orders with UPS 1, 2 or 3-days shipping method selected (not USPS)

Retail Price: $41.00
Sales Price: $27.61

Availability: In Stock
Product Code: ZHL50600435

Product Description

Quasi Hoquetus : for Viola; Cello and Piano (Score & Parts) By : Sofia Gubaidulina : String Ensemble Series : Published by Sikorski : # SIK8678
Quasi Hoquetus by : Sofia Gubaidulina

Composed in 1984 (original instrumentation was viola; bassoon and piano); this work harks back to the medieval technique of the “hocket” (which comes from the Breton word for “hiccups”). It is a technique in which a melody is broken up into fragments which then roam through all the parts in an open; “filigree” texture. In Gubaidulina's work; however; the hocket embraces not only the melodic parameter; but also and above all the harmony and timbres of her material. The filigree writing consolidates itself gradually into a linear continuum; whereby spiritual symbolism in the form of cross and number figures (e. g. seven and thirteen) takes on a particular importance. The work pledges a certain allegiance to tradition in its distinct formal; harmonic and tonal structure and in its obvious references to Johann Sebastian Bach. However; it is also genuinely and refreshingly innovative; particularly in the treatment of the harmonics in the viola; the multiple stops on the bassoon and the clusters in the piano. Brought to a consummate synthesis in this masterful chamber music work; these two aspects - tradition and innovation - reflect Gubaidulina's uniquely personal relationship to her heritage. “My ideal is a relationship to tradition and to new compositional means in which the artist masters all of these means both new and traditional- but does so in a way that makes it seem he is paying no attention to either of them. There are composers who construct their works very consciously; I; however; number myself among those who prefer to 'cultivate' their works. This is why the entire world which I can assimilate constitutes; in a way; the roots ofa tree; its branches and leaves are the works which grow from it. One can call them new; but in the end they are still leaves; and thus they are always traditional; old”. (Sofia Gubaidulina) The work is dedicated to Mikhail Tolpygo; Valeri Popov and Alexander Bakhchiyev.


Length x Width x Height12 x 8.25 x 0.138   inches
Shipping Weight0.44 pounds
East Coast Music Product Code ZHL50600435
UPC Code888680602604
Voicing DescriptionScore & Parts
1st Publication Date09/2015

Below are Related Products that you may be interested in.

Quasi Hoquetus : Score and Parts : Score and Parts : # SIK1845

Quasi Una Fantasia; Op. 104 : (2005) Piano Solo : # SIK1580

Quasi Hoquetus : for Viola; Double Bass and Piano (Parts) : Parts : # SIK8679