Home > Michael Daugherty Music >

Rio Grande : for Symphonic Band (Full Score) : Michael Daugherty : # 4004651
Rio Grande : for Symphonic Band (Full Score) : Michael Daugherty : # 4004651

Rio Grande : for Symphonic Band (Full Score) : Michael Daugherty : # 4004651

In Stock - Usually ships in 1-3 (M-F) days - Guaranteed Same Day Shipping for Orders with UPS 1, 2 or 3-days shipping method selected (not USPS)

Retail Price: $45.00
Sales Price: $35.31

Availability: In Stock
Product Code: ZHL4004651

Product Description

Rio Grande : for Symphonic Band (Full Score) : Michael Daugherty, : Michael Daugherty : Michael Daugherty Music Series : Softcover : 43560 Band Grade : Published by Michael Daugherty Music : # 4004651
Rio Grande by : Michael Daugherty


Rio Grande (2015) for symphonic band is Grammy award winning composer Michael Daugherty's follow-up to his iconic Niagara Falls (1997). The title refers to the legendary 1;250-mile river that flows from the mountains of southern Colorado to the Gulf of Mexico near Brownsville; Texas. In Rio Grande; the composer has created a powerful musical landscape that is magical and majestic. The percussion section; comprised of timpani; bongos; woodblocks; tom toms and bass drums; creates a rhythmic undercurrent to an angular motif that is first heard in the woodwinds; emerging high above the musical precipice. This jagged motif is passed on to individual instruments such as the tuba; and eventually in various colorful guises to the entire symphonic band. Reminding us of the long cultural history associated with the great river; we also hear ghostly Mexican mariachi music echoing faraway through the canyons. In the coda; all the musical material is combined to create a grandiose ending to our journey down the timeless Rio Grande. A resounding success at the world premiere given by the North Texas Wind Symphony (Eugene Migliaro Corporon; conductor); Rio Grande should prove to be one of Daugherty's most popular and performed band works for years to come.


The number of players doubling each part is at the conductor's discretion; but should be in keeping with a balanced sound.


4 Flutes

2 Oboes

English Horn (opt. but recommended)

Eb Clarinet

4 Bb Clarinets (min. 2 players per part)

Bb Bass Clarinet

Eb Contralto Clarinet (opt. but recommended)

2 Bassoons


Bb Soprano Saxophone

Eb Alto Saxophone

Bb Tenor Saxophone

Eb Baritone Saxophone

3 C or Bb Trumpets

4 F Horns

3 Trombones (1st/2nd Tenor; 3rd Bass)

2 Euphoniums (T.C. and B.C)

2 Tubas

Contrabass (opt. but preferred; 2 players recommended)

Timpani (4 or 5 drums; 32“; 29”; 26“; 23”; 20)

Percussion (4 players; instruments are not shared):

1. Xylo


PublisherMichael Daugherty Music
Media Softcover
Length x Width x Height12 x 9 x 0.278   inches
Shipping Weight0.82 pounds
East Coast Music Product Code ZHL4004651
UPC Code888680607968
Voicing DescriptionFull Score
Band Grade Description43560
1st Publication Date01/2016