Home > Anglo Music Press >

Tuba Concerto : Score Only : Philip Sparke : # AMP173
Tuba Concerto : Score Only : Philip Sparke : # AMP173

Tuba Concerto : Score Only : Philip Sparke : # AMP173

In Stock - Usually ships in 1-3 (M-F) days - Guaranteed Same Day Shipping for Orders with UPS 1, 2 or 3-days shipping method selected (not USPS)

Retail Price: $77.00
Sales Price: $61.57

Availability: In Stock
Product Code: ZHL44006760

Product Description

Tuba Concerto : Score Only : Philip Sparke, : Philip Sparke : Anglo Music Concert Band Series : Published by Anglo Music Press : # AMP173
Tuba Concerto by : Philip Sparke

Philip Sparke's Tuba Concerto was commissioned by the German brass instrument manufacturer; Miraphone. It was dedicated to the composer's longtime friend Markus Theinert; who gave the first performance in 2006 with the Brass Band Oberschwaben-Allgäu. The idea for a tuba concerto had been discussed many times between soloist and composer; with the goal of the piece being a true concerto with material that would suit the instrument without resorting to caricature. To this end the solo part covers almost 3-1/2 octaves and uses the instrument's technical and vocal qualities to the full.

The concerto consists of two connected movements; each of which can both be programmed individually. The first movement starts slowly with a noble tune and gathers momentum until a cadenza heralds the return of the opening material. The second is in the form of a scherzo that starts in a determined mood and gradually lightens in character until; again; the opening material closes the work robustly.


PublisherAnglo Music Press
Length x Width x Height12 x 9 x 0.134   inches
Shipping Weight0.45 pounds
East Coast Music Product Code ZHL44006760
UPC Code884088142773
1st Publication Date08/2007