Home > Michael Daugherty Music >

Winter Dreams : for Concert Band (Full Score) : Michael Daugherty : # 4004650
Winter Dreams : for Concert Band (Full Score) : Michael Daugherty : # 4004650

Winter Dreams : for Concert Band (Full Score) : Michael Daugherty : # 4004650

In Stock - Usually ships in 1-3 (M-F) days - Guaranteed Same Day Shipping for Orders with UPS 1, 2 or 3-days shipping method selected (not USPS)

Retail Price: $35.00
Sales Price: $26.69

Availability: In Stock
Product Code: ZHL4004650

Product Description

Winter Dreams : for Concert Band (Full Score) : Michael Daugherty, : Michael Daugherty : Michael Daugherty Music Series : Softcover : 43528 Band Grade : Published by Michael Daugherty Music : # 4004650
Winter Dreams by : Michael Daugherty


Winter Dreams (2015) for concert band is Michael Daugherty's contemporary musical reflection on the creative world of Iowa artist Grant Wood (1891-1942). Composed in memory of Michael's father; Willis Daugherty (1929-2011); the music also reflects on the years when the composer was growing up in Cedar Rapids; Iowa. A lush tapestry of slow moving sonorities unfolds as Winter Dreams evokes the bleak winter scenes of rural Iowa depicted in Grant Wood's paintings and lithographs of the 1930s-1940s; such as “January” and “February.” A haunting melody evokes a cold winter wind whistling “down in the valley.” If you are looking for a soulful; poignant and expressive work to program for your next concert; look no further. Winter Dreams is well suited for bands at the college; high school and community levels.


The number of players doubling each part is at the conductor's discretion; but should be in keeping with a balanced sound.


2 Flutes (min. 2 players per part)

Alto Flute (opt. but preferred)

2 Oboes

English Horn

4 Bb Clarinets (min. 2 players per part)

Bb Bass Clarinet

Eb Contralto Clarinet

2 Bassoons


Bb Soprano Saxophone

Eb Alto Saxophone

Bb Tenor Saxophone

Eb Baritone Saxophone

3 C or Bb Trumpets (straight metal mutes; harmon mutes)

4 F Horns

3 Trombones (1st/2nd Tenor; 3rd Bass; straight metal mutes)

2 Euphoniums (T.C. and B.C.)


Contrabass (opt. but preferred)

Timpani (4 drums; 32“; 29”; 26“; 23”)

Harp (or Piano if no Harp available)

Celesta (or electronic keyboard with Celesta patch if no Celesta available)

Percussion (5 players; instruments are not shared):

1. Glockenspiel; Crotales (or Glockenspiel if no Crotales available)

2. Vibraphone

3. Marimba

4. Chimes

5. Finger Cymbals; Mark Tree; Sleigh Bells; Bell Tree (or Mark Tree if no Bell Tree available)


PublisherMichael Daugherty Music
Media Softcover
Length x Width x Height12 x 9 x 0.248   inches
Shipping Weight0.56 pounds
East Coast Music Product Code ZHL4004650
UPC Code888680607951
Voicing DescriptionFull Score
Band Grade Description43528
1st Publication Date01/2016