Home >

Geranos : for Orchestra (Orchestra) : Score : # CH55865
Geranos : for Orchestra (Orchestra) : Score : # CH55865

Geranos : for Orchestra (Orchestra) : Score : # CH55865

In Stock - Usually ships in 1-3 (M-F) days - Guaranteed Same Day Shipping for Orders with UPS 1, 2 or 3-days shipping method selected (not USPS)

Retail Price: $35.00
Sales Price: $29.67

Availability: In Stock
Product Code: ZHL14010209

Product Description

Geranos : for Orchestra (Orchestra) By : Brian Elias : Music Sales America Series : Score : Published by Chester Music : # CH55865
Geranos by : Brian Elias

Geranos was commissioned by the Fires of London with funds made available by the Arts Council of Great Britain. It was completed in September 1985 and lasts approximately 18 minutes. It is dedicated to Susan Bradshaw. The first performance was given by the commissioners; conducted by Günther Bauer Schenk on 5 November 1985 in the Queen Elizabeth Hall; London.

Geranos is in three movements of nearly equal length (fast-slow-fast) played without a break and preceded by a quiet introduction which is repeated in slightly modified form at the very end of the work. The chord used in the introduction dictates the material throughout the piece. The third movement 'shadows' the first. The slow movement is sub-tilted 'Adonida'; the name of a lament for Adonis who was also known as 'Gingras'. Women bearing images of Adonis and expressing the utmost grief proceeded through the streets; singing and dancing to the accompaniment of the aulos gingras.


PublisherChester Music
Format Score
Shipping Weight0.38 pounds
East Coast Music Product Code ZHL14010209
UPC Code884088808945
Voicing DescriptionOrchestra
1st Publication Date07/2006

Below are Related Products that you may be interested in.