Home >

Adagio from Symphony No. 5 : for String Orchestra : # SO130C
Adagio from Symphony No. 5 : for String Orchestra : # SO130C

Adagio from Symphony No. 5 : for String Orchestra : # SO130C

In Stock - Usually ships in 1-3 (M-F) days - Guaranteed Same Day Shipping for Orders with UPS 1, 2 or 3-days shipping method selected (not USPS)

Retail Price: $55.00
Sales Price: $37.09

Availability: In Stock
Product Code: ZHL294838

Product Description

Adagio from Symphony No. 5 : for String Orchestra By : Lauren Keiser : Sergei Prokofiev : Southern Music Series : Softcover : Published by Hal Leonard : # SO130C
Adagio from Symphony No. 5 by : Lauren Keiser : Sergei Prokofiev

Prokoviev wrote his Bb symphony in short form within a month; 16 years after his last symphony. He used sketches he had compiled in his ubiquitous notebooks. Written in 1944; its four movements are in Bb Major; d minor; F Major and Bb Major (Bb chord) in a sequence of slow; fast; slow; fast. The Adagio is the third movement of the symphony. The music traces its roots to a score Prokofiev was preparing for a film of Pushkin's Queen of Spades that never reached production.

This arranged transcription requires an almost constant five-part textural environment. A challenge will be to merge the independent voices into coherent sections grasped by the players. Prokofiev's accompaniment lines are logical and embrace common musical patterns. They are somewhat relentless but can be learned without much difficulty. Because of the five-part texture; the performers are obligated to play the work with few breaks for rest. You may consider the work a young person's endurance test of a 20th century masterwork. Of course; this music was not available to school programs until now; so this will be an exciting adventure for you and your students.


PublisherHal Leonard
Media Softcover
Length x Width x Height12 x 9 x 0.35   inches
Shipping Weight1.11 pounds
East Coast Music Product Code ZHL294838
UPC Code888680943646
1st Publication Date08/2019

Below are Related Products that you may be interested in.

Adagio : Tomaso Albinoni/Remo Giazotto/arr. Jamin Hoffman : # 4490441

Adagio from Symphony No. 2 (Score & Parts) : Sergei Rachmaninoff/arr. Robert Longfield : # 4491537

Adagio in B Flat Major : Clarinet and Piano : (Barmann/arr. Weston) : # F457

Adagio Of Spartacus And Phrygia Sc/pts Grade 3 (06:01) : # 4061227

Adagio (autoportrat) Op. 75 Orchestra Study Score : # ED13508

Adagio And Allegro Alto Saxophone & Piano (Alto Sax) : # SF9458