Home >

Alto Saxophone Concerto (Revised) : Solo and Piano Reduction : # SU821
Alto Saxophone Concerto (Revised) : Solo and Piano Reduction : # SU821

Alto Saxophone Concerto (Revised) : Solo and Piano Reduction : # SU821

In Stock - Usually ships in 1-3 (M-F) days - Guaranteed Same Day Shipping for Orders with UPS 1, 2 or 3-days shipping method selected (not USPS)

Retail Price: $14.95
Sales Price: $10.26

Availability: In Stock
Product Code: ZHL298123

Product Description

Alto Saxophone Concerto (Revised) : Solo and Piano Reduction : Southern Music Series : Softcover : Published by Southern Music Co. : # SU821
Alto Saxophone Concerto (Revised)

A notable Czech composer; Jaromir Weinberger achieved sudden fame with the production of his opera; Svanda dudâk (Schwanda; the Bagpiper); written in a popular Bohemian style; at the Czech Opera; in Prague in 1927. Weinberger fled Europe under the growing Nazi threat and took up residence in New York in 1939; where he enjoyed a number of major orchestral performances and commissions of all kinds. One of these came from renowned saxophonist Cecil Leeson; who aske Weinberger to compose a concerto for alto saxophone and orchestra.

Due to the outbreak of World War II; the premiere would not happen until 1946; six years after the completion of the concerto in piano score. The work was revised following the premiere and it is only now that those revisions have been incorporated into the solo saxophone and piano reduction with this performance edition by Weinberger scholar; publisher and saxophonist Tristan Willems.


PublisherSouthern Music Co.
Media Softcover
Length x Width x Height12 x 9 x 0.104   inches
Shipping Weight0.34 pounds
East Coast Music Product Code ZHL298123
UPC Code888680950927
1st Publication Date03/2020